Welcome to the #1 KIA Stinger Forum and KIA Stinger community dedicated to KIA Stinger owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the KIA Stinger Forum today!

2.0 Stinger LAP3 After 3,000 Miles

Reactions
State
PA
Country
United States
This is SPECIFICALLY for the 2.0

Warning: This will be a long post.

First, I want to say that I have never used a piggyback before, but have had custom tunes done on a previous vehicle. I am not a mechanical engineer and don't pretend to be one. This has been MY experience with the LAP3 piggyback.

Starting out, everything was going well. Originally, I did not change anything and ran the LAP3 at the 93 octane rating. At around the 1,000 mile mark, I started to hear a singe ?tick? noise under high boost at low RPM. It was always one tick. That's never good (and never good to lug a turbo engine. Lug your GDI engine at your own risk!). I attributed the sound to LSPI? Low Speed Pre-Ignition. I am about 99% sure that's what it was.

I quickly set out to get rid of this potentially destructive phenomenon. First, I went back to stock. No sound, so it had to be the chip. I plugged the chip back in and turned it down to the 91 setting and threw octane booster in the gas. According to the octane booster, I should have been running around 100 octane (I know, I know, but I wanted to try it). This was my cheap solution to a critical problem. Guess what? The sound was still there. Okay, so my second idea was to just regap the OEM spark plugs. I regap the oem plugs to .25 and still the tick is there. I also lost power on the low end of the RPM, which was very interesting. I thought I would be able to hold out on buying new plugs, but I was definetly wrong.

Lesson learned: Listen to the Hive.